One of my favourite Post Run healthy meals

One of my favourite meals to have after a run and to help me recover is grilled chicken, asparagus and long stem Broccoli. This is followed up with a handful of ground cashews, 1/2 an apple, 2x orange, 1/2 a mango and 1/2 a cup of raspberries in a smoothie.

I prepare the chicken by slicing the chicken breast through the middle , essentially “butterflying” it. I then season it with pepper or Chinese five spices to give it some flavour. I put it under the grill for 25 minutes at 180 degrees. Twenty minutes into the grilling I steam the asparagus and long stem broccoli.

Quite a quick  meal to prepare but is packed with nutrition.

I find having the smoothie afterwards satisfies me with the taste and the vitamins, it also means I am not tempted to eat half a tub of ice cream or something sweet that will essentially hinder my performance if I did it on a day to day basis.

I find at the moment I pack most of my carbohydrates within my lunch as it helps me feel energised for my runs straight after work and perform at a higher level without fatigue settling in too quickly.

At the moment I always have one day in seven when I am more relaxed on the meals and food intake as it keeps you happy and essentially stops you picking at bad foods as much as you know the relaxed day is coming up soon.

I know I have a lot of areas and meas to improve on to get to the highest level but that makes it a challenge and interesting as everyday passes.

Does anyone have any suggestions on improvements or any added ideas to this meal?

Leave a Reply

